25 Things Foreigners Admire About Americans

Reading this really makes me appreciate my country a whole lot more!

Thought Catalog

I think Americans get a really bad rap about being gauche and bigoted people in the eyes of foreigners. We can’t be all bad, so I searched through Reddit to find some things people think are actually awesome about us.

MarineCorps NewYorkMarineCorps NewYork

1. Friendliness

My partner’s American and whenever we travel to the States I’m always struck by how ridiculously friendly everyone is. I’ve had long conversations with people I’ve only just met who are just genuinely interested in what life is like in other countries/how I’m finding America etc. And people tend to be very giving of themselves as well. In Britain the standard response to ‘How are you?’ is ‘Fine/great’ whatever, whereas American’s can give you a complete breakdown of their life at the moment (including an in depth medical history id you’re not careful). It’s nice though.

A couple of years ago I was flying in to…

View original post 1,645 more words

Leave a Reply

